Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War III Endless War Update Now Live!

Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War III Endless War Update Now Live!

Relic Entertainment has finally launched their teased “Endless War” update, a massive patch for Warhammer 40K: Dawn Of War III.  Aside from balance updates, it also comes with new Elites, new multiplayer maps as well as some skins.

Warhammer 40K: Dawn Of War III – WAAAGH!!

To coincide with this, a free weekend for the RTS title is underway on Steam and will run up until 9pm BST/10pm CEST/1pm PDT on, October 22nd, as well as a 50%  discount on the game with the offer ending on 6pm BST/7pm CEST/10am PDT, October 23rd.

Now on to the update. There are three new elites and they consist of the the Eldar’s Wraithseer Kayduin, the Space Marine’s Ironclad Dreadnought and the Orks’ Lifta-Droppa Wagon.

The new set of unit cosmetics include five free skins for the various elites. The Eldar has a Helmeted Kyre, with the rest reserved for the Space Marines and include Deathwing Terminators, Assault Terminators, a Salamander Ironclad Dreadnought skin, and Diomedes very own Primaris Chaplain skin.

A highlight of the Endless War update are the additions to the  Dawn of War 3’s  multiplayer component. First, the three new maps, which are the Eldar’s Shrine of Asuyran 1v1 map, the Serpent Chasm 2v2 map, and Da Extraktor 3v3 map.

Then there are the newly introduced multiplayer options, like an On/Off Toggle for Elites, Doctrines and for each Faction’s super abilities in custom maps. Which should add variety and new challenges in games for PVP and Player-AI battles.

Finally, there are the changes which scales back on the MOBA trappings Dawn of War 3  has been put in, and mark the series return to its strategy roots. Adjustments have been made to benefit the game’s early phase and include a 30% boost to health for non-heavy infantry. Allowing players to better utilize these units in a more tactical way. And damage and health upgrades effects for T1 units have been tuned for late game phases.

Also, open-field skirmishes and battles for Resource Points have had some adjustments made. Overall, in combination with the new multiplayer additions and unit modifications, the Endless War update looks like a step in the right direction in reclining the stark shift in Dawn of War 3’s  game mechanics. Hopefully saving the 40K  series from a demise much like the Command & Conquer  RTS franchise with Command & Conquer 4: Tiberian Twilight.

The Endless War update is now live for Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War III,  and the full patch notes can be found here. Furthermore, you can check out its overview video down below:

You can also check out our review on Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War 3  to understand why such a massive update was released.

Warhammer 40,000: Dawn Of War III  is now available on PC via Steam.

More Gaming News

Avatar

Editor at Fextralife.com Deadpixel is proud to bring you the latest in gaming news, reviews and guides from the very depths of digital hell!

View my other posts

One comment on “Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War III Endless War Update Now Live!”

  1. Avatar abraksil says:

    I actually recommend DOW 3. Although it was controversial I bought it at the launch and I don’t regret it. The game has a lot of tactical depth and play style customization option. It’s pretty unique Thanks to it’s war phase systems that allows for both micromanagement game-play and mass scale battles. Have been paying it regularly since the launch – I have almost 400h behind me :)


Log in to leave a Comment