Discuss the latest Dark Souls Title!

CariadocThorne

Souls: 65.00
Hi there,

I played DS1 years ago, but never really got into DS2. I started playing DS3 a couple of years ago, but I tried to recreate my playstyle/build from DS1, and it just wasn't as fun in DS3, so I lost interest by the time I reached the undead settlement.

I'm now coming back and about to start a new playthrough with a whole new character build and play style, but I'm not sure how to best build the character in terms of stats and infusions. I'm planning to get settled early on with a bandit knife and off-hand caestus, switching to a hand axe and lothric knight shield.

My first instinct was to go for a bit of Strength and Dex early on, then switch to focusing on Luck once I start getting the coals and gems for infusion. I would infuse the Bandit knife with poison (to combo with the bleed), and the hand axe with Hollow, then I was thinking I could infuse the Caestus with blessed for some HP regen and to let me finish skeletons without them getting back up, and the shield with Simple to give me some FP regen.

Is this a viable approach? Should I put Simple on the Caestus instead to give me FP for quick step, and put blessed on the shield? Should I ditch poison and hollow on the bandit knife and hand axe for sharp and go with a dex build? Something else entirely?

Any advice you can give is much appreciated.

Edit: oh, I'm mainly focused on PvE, so that's the priority, but I'd like to at least have a chance of fighting off invaders, so PvP is secondary, but not completely unimportant to me.

Wayward_Night

Souls: 72.00