Discuss Capcom's Monster Hunter Series
Visit the Monster Hunter World Wiki and Monster Hunter Rise Wiki

I've been avoiding using Gunlances as much as possible. However, they've been starting to grow on me and I'd like to try them out. I'm curious: When choosing a Gunlance, what is the most important stat? Raw dmg, elemental/status effect, or shelling type?
Artillery and Magazine jewel thats it, the rest is up to you to build it as offensive/defensive/utility. also Shell demage didnt affected by attack stats or crits. use normal/wide type for full combo playstyle and go long type for poke-shot playstyle.
Noob here, considering switching to this as my main is getting boring... what are considered the meta GLs and gems? TIA
depend on your gunlance type Normal . long .wide but the most important is magazine Increase shelling bullet evade extender , guard , guard up, focus (Charger) for long type, artileery these are important
GL can be played in many styles. Long Lv6 (Best range) paired with artillery Lv5 (3 Zorah pieces to get artillery to lv5 or 4 Raging Brachydios pieces if you're on console) + focus Lv3 + magazine for charged rapid fire action Guard Lv5 + Guard Up you'll be able to tank most attacks without even budging. Evade extender for hopping around with your weapon out and to get closer to your target Quick sheath is optional but useful for chasing faster targets. Shelling damage isn't reduced until you reach yellow sharpness Don't forget to shove your Wyrmstake Blast first. Go Normal shelling if you like to slap and burst Wide gets the least ammo but can hit hard. Pick up a meal with Bombardier for extra shelling damage.

Grim_Reaper

Obsessed
Commander

Souls: 161.00
Wiki Edits: 17