Anything related to Dark Souls!

Van3

Souls: 65.00
I'm completely new to this kind of game, and haven't played any of the ones listed on the left hand side of the forum. I'm currently looking for a new game to play, and usually have a list of games to buy which are sorted by release date. I only tend to buy games that are 2-3 years old, and my next "game to buy" on my list was actually Nioh: Complete Edition, for PC. I only added it to my list as it "looked like a fun action RPG", which I guess is kind of underselling it.

Anyway, having done some research on it, it seems that it's actually an extremely hard game to play, which can supposedly make you regret your purchase. As I'm trying to have fun and not just play games for the sake of being able to say "I managed to complete it", I'm just wondering if I'll actually be able to have any fun playing Nioh and the games listed on the left if they're just TOO hard. Are they really too hard to the point that it takes away most of the enjoyment?

On a related note, if I WERE to try my hand at this kind of game, is Nioh really the first of its type that I should play? I was considering playing through the Dark Souls series first, having not played any of them, although I realised that the first one came out in 2011 and it's just a bit too old school for me. That being said, I see that there's a remastered DS1 out, and I could start with that one first I guess. Would it be optimal to start with the DS franchise before playing Nioh or Sekiro, just so I get used to this kind of game? Not that the DS franchise is easy by any means, but as it came out before the other two games I mentioned it'll give me some ideas on how to play this type of game properly.

Thanks guys.

penniwise

Regular
Battle Tested

Souls: 618.00