Discuss the latest Dark Souls Title!

MaskedTheMan

Addicted
First Warden

Souls: 900.00
Wiki Edits: 2
TSMP wrote:
MaskedTheMan wrote:Thanks, I'll check out the Crystal Chime for sure, I had never really considered it as an option. I just want to have all of the dark spells in the game, but I'm not going to have them all on at the same time. I'll restrict myself to two types at a time that way my rings aren't AIDS. I'm just trying to have fun, and I've never done a dark magic build on DS3 before. I kind of wish that DS3 had treated them like they did in DS2 with hexes being a separate spell type, it would have made this a lot simpler; especially if From had made a catalyst type that is ONLY for hexing, as opposed to the whole staff/chime thing they did in DS2.

Well, actually... hexes in DS2 were their own category, but functionally they were little different from sorceries or miracles:

• DS2 had some dark spells that could only be cast with staves, some that could only be cast with chimes, but only a select few staves or chimes were suited for casting them.
  • DS3 has some dark spells that can only be cast with staves, some that can only be cast with chimes/talismans, but only a select few staves or chimes/talismans are suited for casting them.

The only differences between DS2 and DS3 are the Black Witch's Staff and Abyss Seal, those being a catalyst that can cast dark sorceries+miracles, and a ring that boosts the damage of all dark spells instead of only half at a time. And I'll totally agree that DS3 should've had those or something like them, because without them dark mages just feel way too limited and a whole lot less fun. As it is, I'm having to unironically recommend using two different catalysts at once to you, just so you can have the kind of spell access a single-stat caster enjoys, when the entire point of making a hybrid build is versatility and variety. Sheesh.