Discuss Demon's Souls and the start of the Souls Series
Wiki: Demon's Souls Wiki

SeyroonTheMage

Casual
Convict

Souls: 445.00
Wiki Edits: 8
(Sorry this isn't directly related to DaS3. I am very new to lore and I planned to start with DeS and go from there, but I overestimated how quickly I could move on to subsequent titles; there was so much to learn I still haven't made it past DeS. Hopefully it won't be a problem if I share my findings here anyway.)

Selen Vinland's armor is purportedly fit to serve 'high-ranking women.'
Thus it is implied that Selen is 'high-ranking.'
However, her esteemed nature remains unclear (AFAIK).
It's possible she earned her merit by her own achievements.
It's also possibly genetically related, bestowed to her by birthright.
For all we know, it is equally likely one or the other, or both, or neither.
Let's assume for our purposes that it's tied to her biology.
If so, then by extension we may infer that Garl Vinland is also high-ranking in that regard.
Now, what's another word for 'land', or a particular type of land? A yard.
Replacing 'land' with 'yard' in the Vinland surname, we get 'Vinyard.'
Obviously, this is quite similar to 'vineyard', and identical phonetically.
A vineyard is itself an area of land, dedicated to the production of wine.
What is wine? The blood of Christ.
What is the blood of Christ? Sacred.
What is sacred? Noble.
What is noble? High-ranking.

So, there is this curious semantic synchronicity, however insignificant it may be. Like circumstantial evidence, it supports the (admittedly not-groundbreaking) hypothesis that the siblings Vinland are of special blood, whether it be sacred, noble, royal, or anything else of that nature.

Furthermore, 'Selene' is the Greek goddess of the moon.
Selen offers Dark Moon Grass for completing her quest.
It is the rarest and most potent variety of Grass, named after the corresponding moon phase in the game.